i need a cup of coffee and toast to wake up

i need a cup of coffee
and toast to wake up

i need Vitamin C in my day
to wake me up

give me fermented lemon tea
and cream cheese to wake up
(but not together)
(though, i’ve never tried it)

i need water, lots of it
and ice to wake me up

brush my hair, i don’t need it neat
i just like the touch, the rhythm, the pull
to wake me up

my medication, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
of them, to wake me up

from this horrid, horrid
state of reality
that i cannot wake up from.

Leave a Reply

