Cubes of pineapples on a sunny night

The window is ajar beside me,
I’m eating bite-sized cubes of pineapple.
My hair is soft, and smells like citrus
and the better sort of olives.
It’s night, but you can tell
by the lightness still in the sky–
akin an amber bulb glowing under
navy, translucent resin–
that it has been sunny all day.
The window is ajar beside me
I feel a little chilly now
and curiously, a little sad–
I realize… I’ve never really loved
the tartness of pineapples
or even the smell of olives.

Leave a Reply

