Please be naked (The 1975)

 

Please be naked: A poem (inspired)

I was given freedom
in the form of a daisy.
I held it in my hand for so long
its roots wove between my fingers
and the soil hardened in the
crevices of my skin.
I was given freedom
yet it shrivelled in my calloused hands.
The roots fell apart, no longer vines but
broken twigs into ashes.
I was given freedom
in the form of a daisy–
Freedom, tender against my nakedness–
Freedom, mighty like a kingdom
and yet even David’s is now
only ruins.
I was given freedom
in the form of a daisy
for my Lord knew I was weak
and that I was hollow
And I needed to see the seed He sowed
and the beauty it created
wilt before my watery eyes
before I knew what I had neglected
for far too long.

Leave a Reply

