Growing Pains

This is my independence.

Sorry for leaving the door ajar
Mother, And letting
The breeze in
For I just wanted to know comfort, That
I still had a way back in
Even though I cannot
Look over my shoulder to see
I just wanted your smell
To seep through
Like nostalgic perfume
As I leave my trail of no more
Behind
Growing Pains
You used to knead my legs at night
And tell me
You’re only growing bigger, stronger,
The pain will pass
Tomorrow morning, you’ll see the world
A little taller
But now I can only hear your good bye
Through the door, left ajar
The door I cannot enter

This is my independence
This is my growing pain.

Leave a Reply

