Recommendations: I

I have been splurging on a variety of music, TV shows, and movies a lot lately,  as I have copious amounts of free time since school hasn’t started yet due to a prolonging labour dispute between our teachers and the government and a deplorable Premier. I thought I’d share some of my favourites with you, friends, and maybe we may enlighten one another on different forms of art? Maybe this will become an ongoing thing. Or not. Who knows.

  1. Rick and Morty 
    Ah, Rick and Morty. My brother was the one who introduced me to this… berzerk comedy show, saying that this TV show was “kind of like Adventure Time, but… more adult.” This show, borderline morbid but nonetheless hilarious has me certainly addicted.

    It follows the story of an absurd, alcoholic and extremely gifted scientist, Rick, and his grandson, Morty. Rick, the epitome of a “mad scientist” forces his hilariously distressed grandson on dangerous and outlandish misadventures into alternate universes.
    Give this TV show a shot or two, as it may be difficult to adjust to. It’s one of those shows where you’re not sure whether to laugh or cry, but you end up laughing hard anyway.
    (Below is a gif of the part that made me fall in love with this show.)
  2. Moonrise Kingdom
    Brilliant director, Wes Anderson. I’m working my way through a marathon of Wes Anderson movies, and this movie has me captured by far; Moonrise Kingdom did not cease to intrigue me. The colour pallet, the visuals, the symmetry: every detail in every Anderson movie is a work of art. He creates movies so distinctive, that any viewer would watch his films and say “I’m looking into this man’s mind.” Enough Wes Anderson praise (although, there can never be too much). I’ll give you a little introduction.

    Moonrise Kingdom follows the story of a forbidden, prepubescent love between Sam Shakusky and Suzy Bishop. Together, they run away, the police and family and friends at their heels, as the lovers try to escape the world together with all odds against them. This movie will make you fall in love with the people, the scenery, and the impeccable synergy between Sam and Suzy.
  3.  Finger Back – Vampire Weekend
    Vampire Weekend is one of my absolute favourite bands, and I would recommend all of their albums to you right now. The one song that has been repeating for hours on my iTunes playlist has been this one in particular, Finger Back. Don’t ask me why, I’m just in the mood for this song. Listen to it. I like it. It’s good.

Leave a Reply

