Right now I am okay

Right now I am okay. I am content. Time right now feels slow but in the most pleasurable way.

I am curled up on the couch, a blanket lays over my cold legs. I am warmed by the light of the lamp behind me, illuminating a soft, amber glow in the dimness of the living room. My father strums his guitar, humming, swaying slightly, the song is airy, on the couch beside me. My mother has just come home from a long day of work. I hear the shower running and she is singing. There is something so delightful about the way a voice carries itself against, no, not against, but in harmony with the pattering of falling rain. I am immersed in a book, The Brothers Karamazov, and I am so glad that my mind does not tarry; this time it befriends me and my book. Things are good in this moment. Time is slow, but in the most pleasurable way.

Right now I am okay. I am content.

(And yet sadness still lingers silly in my veins, as I know this feeling of contentment is fickle, so fickle.)

Right now I am okay. I am content.

Leave a Reply

